top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngela Li

Week three - lasercut

Updated: Nov 16, 2021



I found this christmas tree design on Thingiverse and wanted to try if I could also make this work. The original creator of this post also posted a file that demonstrates the outline of each pieces needed. I first tried tracing the shapes with pen tool.


Materials and Tools:

• 12"x12" Acrylic Boards x2 (bought in canal plastics)

• Laser cutter



After the first trial, I found that the thickness of the joining parts are too thin. The cut out part should be at lease the thickness of the acrylic board. I tried snapping them in, but I pushed too hard that it broke.

I then printed another set after widening the cutted joining parts. However, it was still too tight. I was able to push it in, but with some force. This piece broke when I was trying to snap another piece on. I asked the shop staff and they said that the laser has a particular size that i need to consider when measuring the size. They told me to test it more, so I printed another set.


This is the final set that worked. The connecting parts are a little loose, but they do stand and stay. The original file was missing two pieces on the side, so I had to doing another print. I also made a little square bottom for it to stand on just so it is more stable and easier to carry.


Conclusion

I totally forgot about the thickness when I was making the outlines. Something that I would keep in mind next time includes getting extra materials. I had to print four times for this homework and each of my print was pretty big. I only had two pieces of the acrylic board so I was really nervous when I was going on trials. I would also make more accurate measurements and take the possible difference made by the laser cutter into account so that they could fit more tightly, yet still smoothly.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page