top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngela Li

week four - enclosure

Updated: Nov 24, 2021


I was inspired by the examples in class. I loved the random buttons. I thought it was really interesting just to play with the buttons itself. I chose to use a metal box because I have used any metal materials yet so I wanted to try it out.


Materials & Tools

• Metal box

• Buttons

• Potentialmeter

• Motor

• Swith


• Driller

• Caliper

• The drill head that has levels for the size of the hole

• Superglue


I drilled several holes after measuring the width of the buttons with a caliper. The edges are not really smooth and the sizes are not really accurate. Some of the compoments wiggles. I found a mount piece for the potentialmeter. but I wasn't able to find the mount piece for the switches.



The motor is really heavy as well. Simpily the hole wasn't really enough to hold these components on the lid. I decided to glue the components onto the lid so that they wont move.


Glueing was hard also. The surface of the lid wasn't flat becuase the drilled holes had curved edges. I wa able to superglue the potentialmeter, the swith, and the button, but I had to use tape for the motor. I was a little confused about the button. I wasn't really sure where exactl should I fit through the hole. I separated them into two and drilled a hole that is the size of the part between the base and th button. Then I clipped them back together into the hole, but it wasn't stable as well.




Conclusion

I feel like the mount pieces were eaiser to apply since they have an attached part that stablizes them. Next time, I would sand all the surfaces to make the connecting parts more smooth and stable. I would also like to try if there's another way other than glue that can keep the components on the lid. For example, I could try making the entire lid another encloser so the components has a floor to lay on. I'm wondering if the button should be sized by its base rather than the connecting part so that they are pushable.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page