top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngela Li

week five - Night lamp

Updated: Dec 1, 2021

C

I was inspired by this light cover that I saw on pinterest. I had bamboo stripes and linen fabrics on my hands so I thought this would be a perfect direction for these two materials.

I started by planning out how exactly I could turn the materials into the shape I want.


Materials & Tools:

• Bamboo sticks

• Linen fabric

• Wood (I know that we were not supposed to use ply wood. I'm not really sure if this is fine but I have two other materials. Can I maybe count this piece of wood as a small complimentary part?)


• Drill press

• Driller

• Clamps

• Stapler



I first created a circle base with the huge round cutter thing on drill press. I thought it was a really useful tool because I thought I had to cut a circle by hand and I freaked out. This is the only part that I used ply wood.



Then I nailed the bamboo sticks onto the wood base with nails and two drillers. I had one driller drilling the hole and the other one screwing the nails in. I had to drill a hole first because the shop staff said that the bamboo stick might crack if I directly nail it. I still ended up cracking some, but it wasn't hard with the driller.


Then I cut a big piece of fabric and wrapped it around the sticks. I folded them in the middle of each stick to create a wavy look. I use staplers for this part. Is there any other tools that would be better?




conclusion

The only failure that I came through was that the sticks cracked several times with I was nailing it onto the wood. I think it's because the stick is too thin and the nails are too thick. After some tryouts, I thought the pre-drilled holes were helpful. Big thanks to the shop staff for introducing me some new skills and the big circle cutter thing, saved me a lot of times. I also thought it was helpful that I really planned out each step this time so I didn't have a moment where I thought I should've done it another way. The linen fabric was a little hard to control. I really wonder if there's better way to stick the fabric onto the sticks instead of stapler or glue. Next time, I would try adding more sticks around the base. I feel like that would make it look a better. I didn't have a small light that I could put inside, but I think the holes on the fabric would make a beautiful light.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page