top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngela Li

week six - motor

Updated: Dec 8, 2021


Since we are working with motors this week, I thought it would be nice if I could make a CD player that can actually spin.

I wanted to make a box with a flip open lid, but I wasn't able to figure out how to make the joining part work for a 3d lid.


The original sketch came from this thingiverse post that I found. I made a lot of changes to match my design, but the original sketch gave me an easier start.

Materials & Tools:

• Acrylic boards and sticks

• DC motor

• Batteries and battery cages

• Resistor

• Wood

• Button

• Potentiometer and the cap on it


• Laser cutter

• Drill press

• Bench saw

• Driller

• Calliper

• Solder

• Nails

• Sanding machine and paper

I first made a box with the laser cutter. On one side of the box, I made a small drawer for batteries that can be pulled out or battery change. I had to make a few copies because the width in between joints are hard to control.




I also laser cut some CDs with black acrylic boards and engraved the centre to make it look more real. The centre is cut open to connect to the motor. I made it square because that's the easiest way I can think of to move it with the motor while remains removable.

Then, I soldered the circuit together and tried positioning them on the top board. I drilled some holes for motor and potentiometer. It was really hard drilling into acrylic and I got several injuries and a broken battery.





Since my motor needs to hang on the top board, I had to make a cage for it because gravity isn't helping at all. I made the cage with two pieces of wood that I cut with measured values of the motor. I also drilled a hole for the other side of the motor, also to make it more stable in its cage. I have no idea why I chose to use a double sided motor. Probably because I liked how it looks. After making the cage, I nailed it with the motor inside onto the top board. The side of the wood cracked a little but it doesn't seem to affect anything right not. I think it's because the nails are too big and widens on the top.


The hole for the button is laser cut. It is a perfect hole that holds the button perfectly. I was really surprised at how fit and stable they are.



Finally, I placed all my wires inside and glued my battery to the little room that I made for it. I changed a battery because the original one flew away and the wires broke when I was drilling a hole on the board.



Conclusion

Drilling through acrylic and making a cage for the motor was the hardest part of this project. I would be more careful on the nails to eliminate cracking. I thought it was really hard to control the board when drilling through acrylic. The entire board would fly away easily and hurts my hand. Even when I was using a drill press. I also tried drilling a smaller hole first and then make it bigger, but it's still hard to hold down the board. I was able to use a small table clamp to stabilize it, but then there were too many elements attached or the position makes it hard to clamp. I tried to plan out every step in the right order, but the logic was hurting my brain and it seems like I should've clamped the boards and drill all the holes before there were anything attached. If I can redo it, I would also try adding a playing needle that reads the CD. I tried making one, but I had a hard time making it spin-able. I had two pieces of woods that one is wider and the other has a wide end and a thin end. So when they connect together it would shape like a weight bell and the thin part would go through the hole. It failed because the two parts won't stay together and this was the hole that made everything fly away and cut my hands. I got a little scared. I guess the driller shouldn't be too big at once.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page